Key dates in the history of Charles University

1347	A privilege granted by Pope Clement VI opens the way for the establishment of a Studium generale in Prague
1348	By the <u>Charter of 7 April</u> , the King of Bohemia and of the Romans Charles IV founds a university with four faculties (liberal arts, medicine, law, and theology)
1366	Charles IV founds a college for twelve masters (Collegium Caroli)
1372	The Faculty of Law establishes a separate university for jurists (which remains in existence until 1418/19)
1383	The Collegium Caroli acquires a building (the Carolinum) in the Old Town, which has served as the seat of the University ever since its reconstruction in 1383/86
1409	On 18 January, King Wenceslas (Václav) IV issues the Kutná Hora Decree, by which the Czech university "nation" is given priority status (the departure of the other university "nations" leads to the establishment of a university in Leipzig)
1417	The University claims allegiance to the Utraquists (Hussites) and is punished by the Pope, who imposes a ban on its activities
1419	The Hussite wars curb the activities of the University (until the beginning of the 17th century, only one faculty – liberal arts – remains open)
1556	The Jesuit Order arrives in Prague and founds an academy in the Clementinum where philosophy and theology are taught (promoted to university status in 1616)
1609	Start of University reforms: fixed rules of study are introduced, celibacy of professors is abolished, the bursar is put in charge of the administration and management of the University
1618	The University takes an active part in the resistance against the Catholic monarch
1622	Following the defeat of the Protestant Czech Estates, the University is handed over to the Jesuits

1625	Answering a call from a Jesuit general, Rodrigo Arriaga arrives in Prague. He later goes on to become the most significant representative of Spanish scholasticism and Dean of the Prague Theological Faculty
1638	The faculties of medicine and of law residing in the Carolinum are placed under direct supervision by the state
1654	By the Decree of Union, Ferdinand III joins the Carolinum and Clementinum into one university (Universitas Carolo-Ferdinandea) with four faculties
1718	The architect F. M. Kaňka completes the reconstruction of the Carolinum in the Baroque style
1773	Jesuit Order abolished
1781	The start of University reforms: 1781- non-Catholics allowed to study; 1783 - the University is taken over by the state and divested of its own government; 1784 - University jurisdiction abolished; the rules of study establish German as the language of instruction
1837	Jan Evangelista Purkyně informs a scientific assembly in the Carolinum about his research into cells
1848	The University demands academic freedoms and the placement of the Czech language on an equal footing with instruction in German
1849/1850	The Act on the Organization of Universities gives greater powers to the academic senate and professorial staff; the study code introduces examina rigorosa and final state examinations (for the JUDr., MUDr., PhDr., and ThDr. titles)
1879	The outstanding physicist Ernst Mach, who worked in Prague for 28 years, becomes Rector of the Charles-Ferdinand University at a difficult time, amid negotiations about its division into German and Czech parts
1882	A decree issued by Emperor Franz Joseph I on 28 February divides the Charles- Ferdinand University into two independent institutions with Czech and German as their respective languages of instruction
1882	Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk is appointed extraordinary professor of philosophy by the Faculty of Arts of the Czech Charles-Ferdinand University
1911	Albert Einstein becomes professor of theoretical physics at the German Charles- Ferdinand University (until 1912)
1917	Bedřich Hrozný (later a professor at the Charles University Faculty of Arts) publishes his magnum opus The Language of the Hittites, thus laying the groundwork for Hittite Studies

1920	By an act of law stipulating the relations between the two Prague universities, the
1020	Czech counterpart is given the name "Charles University"; a Faculty of Science is established
1939	After the Nazi occupation of Bohemia and Moravia, the German University (Deutsche Karlsuniversität Prag) is incorporated into the Reich; following student demonstrations on 17 November, Charles University is closed together with other Czech higher education institutions
1945	The activities of Charles University are restored – branches of the Faculty of Medicine open in Plzeň (from 1958 the Charles University Faculty of Medicine) and in Hradec Králové (from 1959 the Charles University Faculty of Medicine); the German University is abolished
1946	Opening of the Faculty of Education (in 1959-1964 not a part of Charles University)
1947	Gerty Theresa Cori (born Radnitz) and Carl Cori, graduates of the Faculty of Medicine of the German University in Prague, receive the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their discovery of the process of the catalytic conversion of glycogen
1948	Student demonstration against the totalitarian regime (followed by mass expulsions of non-communist teachers and students from the University)
1950	The Higher Education Act abolishes academic autonomy and subjects the activities of higher education institutions to Communist Party control; the Theological Faculty is separated from Charles University (from 1950 to 1990 the seat of the independent faculty is in Litoměřice)
1952	Establishment of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics
1953	The Faculty of Medicine is divided into three separate faculties - General Medicine, Hygiene (Public Health), and Paediatrics (from 1990 under new names – the First, Second and Third Faculty of Medicine)
1959	The Institute of Physical Education and Sport is transferred under the control of the University (from 1966 "Faculty of Physical Education and Sport")
1959	Jaroslav Heyrovský, professor at the Charles University Faculty of Science, is awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the discovery and development of polarographic methods of analysis
1960	Institute of Adult Education and Journalism established (from 1965 "Faculty of Adult Education and Journalism"; from 1990 "Faculty of Social Sciences")
1968	Jan Patočka appointed professor of philosophy at the Faculty of Arts
1968	The University takes part in the events of the Prague Spring; after 1969 there is a new wave of repressions of teachers and students who refuse to conform
1969	Establishment of Faculty of Pharmacy in Hradec Králové

1989	Student demonstrations to commemorate the events of 17 November 1939 bring about the fall of the regime
1990	The Higher Education Act restores universities' autonomy and freedom of research and instruction
1991	Three theological faculties (Catholic, Protestant and Hussite) are incorporated into Charles University
2000	Establishment of the Faculty of Humanities
2000	Charles University comprises 17 faculties (3 located outside Prague):
	Catholic Theological Faculty Protestant Theological Faculty Hussite Theological Faculty Faculty of Law First Faculty of Medicine Second Faculty of Medicine Third Faculty of Medicine Faculty of Medicine in Plzeň Faculty of Medicine in Hradec Králové Faculty of Pharmacy in Hradec Králové Faculty of Science Faculty of Science Faculty of Mathematics and Physics Faculty of Social Sciences Faculty of Physical Education and Sport Faculty of Humanities