Coimbra Group

<u>The Coimbra Group</u> was founded in 1985 and was formally established by signing the charter two years later. The network is open only to traditional and **the oldest institutions across the European area**. The Coimbra Group is committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalisation, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society.



Organization structure

The bodies of the association are the **Executive Board** (regularly elected ten members), which has its chair and vice-chair, the **Rectors Advisory Group** (a seven-member group composed of active rectors of member universities), the **General Assembly** and, finally, particular **Working Groups**, which are divided according to their focus into three large groups, which are science, teaching and external relations. The administrative part of the group is the so-called **Coimbra Group Office**.

Coimbra Group Scholarship Programmes

Coimbra Group Universities have been providing, since 2008, young researchers from universities in Sub-Saharan Africa with the opportunity to spend a short period (generally 1 to 3 months) at a Coimbra Group University to carry out part of their research there.

Charles University is participating in the **Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa** and is offering **six places** for young researchers from all African countries, except Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia (applicants from these countries are eligible under the Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers from the European Neighbourhood).

At Charles University, **the Rectorate** is offering two scholarship for students from all fields with funding of €1,000 for a duration of one to three months. The contact person for this scholarship is Sylvie Boumová (<u>sylvie.boumova@ruk.cuni.cz</u>).

The Faculty of Science is offering four scholarship positions, each providing €1,200 per month for a one-month research stay. The contact person for this faculty's scholarship is Pavla Pousková (pavla.pouskova@natur.cuni.cz).

Please note that all applicants must secure a letter of acceptance from an academic supervisor at the host university. **The deadline for submissions is Monday, 31 March 2025**, at midnight (CET). Further details about the programme can be found on the <u>Coimbra Group website</u>.

3-Minute Thesis (3MT)

3MT is a competition that takes place during the Coimbra Annual Conference. PhD students have the opportunity to make a video where they have to present the topic of their dissertation within three minutes. Charles University can nominate only one candidate for the competition. The winner will receive a financial bonus.



Contact

Sylvie Boumová International Relation Office Charles University, rectorate Tel.: +420 224 491 301 sylvie.boumova@ruk.cuni.cz